TikTok stories are a great way of sharing highlights with your followers, just like you would on Instagram or Snapchat. But, like any update, you might change your mind and decide you want to take it down. The good news is that stories on TikTok can be easily removed and we’re going to show you how. Keep reading to find out how to delete a TikTok story in just a couple of seconds.
Why You Might Want to Delete a TikTok Story
There are a few reasons why you might want to delete a story on TikTok. Maybe you shared something personal that you now regret, or maybe you just don’t like the way it looks. Another common reason for deleted stories is when a video has been posted accidentally. Whatever your reason, you’re well within your rights to remove stories on TikTok whenever you like.
Need to Delete Your Story on TikTok? How’s How
Your stories on TikTok can be deleted quickly and easily. Here’s how to do it on any mobile device:
- In the TikTok app, tap the profile icon in the bottom right-hand corner of the screen.
- You will see a circle around your profile picture, click on it.
- Find the TikTok story you want to delete and click the three dots.
- A menu will pop up giving you the option to delete your story.
- Tap ‘Delete’ and confirm that you want to remove the story.
It really is that simple. Remember that, depending on how long your story has been live, people may have already seen it. There’s very little that you can do about that.
Can I Only Delete a Story on the TikTok App?
Yes, you can only delete TikTok stories from the app. This means that you won’t be able to remove them from your account if you’re accessing your TikTok account on the web.
How Long Do TikTok Stories Last?
TikTok stories only last for 24 hours and then they’re gone forever. That’s different from Snapchat or Instagram where you can choose to save your story and keep it on your profile. Of course, you can always re-upload the content as a new story if you want to keep it around for longer. Just remember that any new likes or comments will start from scratch.
Who Can See My TikTok Story?
Your TikTok story is visible to anyone who follows you on the app. If your account is set to private, only people who you have approved as followers will be able to see it. Keep in mind that even if your account is private, followers can still take screenshots of your stories. So, if you’re sharing something sensitive, it’s always best to err on the side of caution.
If you have blocked a user, your profile will appear completely blank and they will not be able to see your videos, information, or your TikTok story.
Can I Get Deleted Stories Back?
Unfortunately, once you delete a TikTok story, it’s gone for good. There is no way to retrieve it or get it back. So, if you’re thinking about deleting a story, make sure that you really want to do it, as you won’t be able to view any deleted stories.
Can My Followers Save My TikTok Stories?
In theory, no, followers cannot save the videos on your TikTok stories. However, many devices, like iPhones, do have screen recording functionality. This means that they can technically record or save your story (or any of your other videos on TikTok). It’s for this reason that you should always think twice about what you post on your TikTok story, especially if you don’t know all of your followers.
Can I Turn my TikTok Video Into a Story?
Yes, you can turn any video on TikTok into a story. Here’s how to do this:
- Tap on the ‘share’ icon below the video.
- A menu will pop up giving you the option to share your video as a story.
- Tap ‘Share as Story’ and your video will be added to your story.
Can Somebody Report my TikTok Story?
If somebody thinks that your TikTok story goes against the Community Guidelines, then they can report it. Once a story is reported, it will be reviewed by the TikTok moderators to see if it needs to be removed. If you’re worried about your story being reported, make sure that it doesn’t contain any nudity, violence, or illegal activity. Too many reported stories can result in your entire TikTok account being suspended,